| Jan 12, 2021

Foundation for Agriculture Announces 14th ‘Book of the Year’

2021 Book of the Year, Plus Financial Support of the Foundation also Recognized

2020 Book of the Year 1

Article originally posted here.

The American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture presented its 14th “Book of the Year” award to Viola Butler for “Tales of the Dairy Godmother: Chuck’s Ice Cream Wish.”

In this “dairy-tale,” a young boy named Chuck wishes for all the ice cream he can eat, prompting his “Dairy Godmother” to show up to grant his wish with a dairy farm, where he gets a firsthand look at all the hard work and care that goes into producing his favorite treat.

Butler struggled to read growing up, but once she figured it out, she couldn’t stop. “Chuck’s Ice Cream Wish” is her first published book. She works in education and lives in the suburbs with her family.

Butler said, “I’m so grateful for this award. I hope the story can help young readers understand the hard work that goes into making our meals possible.”

Ward Jenkins, an illustrator and storyboard artist from the Atlanta, Georgia, area, illustrated the book. His illustrated picture books include “Chicks Run Wild” and “Rock Shoes.” Additionally, he has served as storyboard artist for several animated TV series such as “My Little Pony” and “Bing.”

The “Book of the Year” award springs from the Foundation’s effort to identify “Accurate Ag Books,” a collection of nearly 500 books for children, teenagers and adults that accurately cover agricultural topics. Book of the Year selections are educational, help to create positive public perceptions about agriculture, inspire readers to learn more and touch their readers’ lives as well as tell the farmer’s story. The Accurate Ag Books database is available at: http://www.agfoundation.org/recommended-pubs.

To accompany “Chuck’s Ice Cream Wish,” the Foundation has created an educator’s guide.

Financial Support of the Foundation

Several state Farm Bureaus were recognized for exemplary financial support of the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture at convention.

State Farm Bureaus receiving the Scholar Award are Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Oklahoma, Georgia and Illinois. The Scholar Award is given to the six state Farm Bureaus with the highest total donations to the Foundation within their membership groups.

Eighteen state Farm Bureaus qualified for an Apex Award: Alabama, California, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming. The Apex Award is given to state Farm Bureaus that have increased total contributions to the Foundation by 10% or more over the previous year.

Thirty-four state Farm Bureaus qualified for the Leader Award: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. State Farm Bureaus are recognized with a Leader Award when each of their board members donates at least $50 to the Foundation.

- e d i t -

Confidently use the Pillars of Ag Literacy, so that you can save time and energy with your ag literacy efforts.